Sarah Jane Photography: The Beginnings

Who, What, When, Where & Why?

I am Sarah of Sarah Jane Photography. I am currently a student at the University of Central Missouri. I will graduate in May 2010 with a BS degree in Photography and a minor in Psychology. My journey in photography, however, did not begin in Warrensburg. I was given my first camera at the age of twelve, and as my mother would tell you, “the rest was history.” I immediately fell in love with the camera and the beauty I could both capture and create with it. It was not until my later high school years, however, that I was able to fully realize my love of the field.

Many of the most vivid memories I have of my four years at Jefferson City High School were made behind the camera. I spent three years photographing anything and everything for our student newspaper, Red and Black.In this setting, I experienced the world of photo journalism and sports photography, but at that same time I previewed the world of portrait photography through a part-time job at Childress Portrait Design. It was the time spent with the customer’s of Childress that I decided my future was in portrait photography.

Life, however, had other things in mind for me at that time. While I did begin to photograph friends and family for a very small profit, I was offered a full-time position as a commercial photographer for Arkansas Valley Feathers/Zucker Feather Products in the summer of 2006. This position gave me the opportunity to hone my studio skills, work with and overcome difficult subjects and complicated lighting situations and it also allowed me to preview the often high-paced world of commercial and fashion photography. (My commercial work for AVF/ZFP can be viewed at www.featherplace.com)

While I still continue to work with AVF/ZFP, my focus has now returned to my first love, portrait and wedding photography. I have been fortunate enough to have the chance to experience weddings alongside Steve Williams, who is a respected wedding photographer in the Kansas City area. I have also been able to spread my wings on my own at a handful of weddings. I consider it a great privilege to photograph each wedding and I love having the opportunity to share such an important day with each couple.

This year, I hope to continue growing my client base and to simply have fun with each session and explore the possibilities I have with each client and each image.

Thank you for visiting! Check back in soon… there is always more to come!

Leave a Reply

