Sarah Jane Photography. Behind the Lens. My Thoughts.

One night this week I was having a little print production party… AKA: me up late packaging prints and watching movies (ya, I know how to party). I was watching the last Harry Potter movie when the line “Of course it’s happening inside your head… but why on earth should that mean that it’s not real?” 

Every once in a while a quote in a movie, a line in a book or even a billboard or advertisement will inspire me or just strike a particular cord. That night, and that line was one of those times so I grabbed the computer to do a little blogging with those thoughts! 

I have always said that I’m not a dreamer, I’m a do-er, but really what I’ve done started somewhere and that somewhere was inside my head. I’ve had such a clear picture of where I was going and what I was doing for so long that it’s easy to think it wasn’t a dream but a plan. But in reality all this started as a little girl’s dream. A ‘what do you want to be when you grow up?’ question in an elementary school classroom and my little girl answer of: Photographer, Architect or Writer. That piece of paper could have said doctor, lawyer, astronaut, or vet but it didn’t. Years later, when in high school (and staring down the barrel of ‘what are you doing NEXT YEAR’ – that ‘when you grow up question sure gets serious in high school’) I found that piece of paper while cleaning out some old school papers. That was my ah-ha moment.

And since then I’ve been on a one way track leading straight to where I sit today. So was it a plan? Have I always known where I was going.. had a road map? Has it been a journey without twists and turns or bumps and bruises? No. It was a dream…. a spark. And it was all in my head, but that didn’t make it any less real. 

I’m not sure how many of my high school seniors read much on my blog (likely not a lot and that’s quite alright) but I know that junior/senior year is full of a lot of ‘what are you doing next year?’ ‘what do you want to major in?’ and basically what do you want to decide now that you want to do for the rest of your life questions. It can be scary and intimidating and often we choose our direction based on a lot of what’s in the real world. And yes the realist in me does have to point out that things like making an income, the ability to find a job in your field and where you want to work geographically are all smart things to consider, but for all you who are on the cusp of making a choice in the direction you choose consider what’s in your head and heart as well. It may seem like just a dream, but with hard work and commitment, talent and knowledge it can become reality before you know it. 

 

Ok… that’s about as inspirational and sappy as I get but for some reason that quote hit home for me tonight (and maybe I just needed a break from sticking wallets!). 

Dream BIG!

Image

Leave a Reply

