Macon County Animal Shelter | Decatur Illinois | Tour De Paws Event | 2013

This summer I’m thrilled to had the chance to make a wonderful connection to the Macon County Animal Shelter! If you couldn’t tell by my instagram/facebook feeds I have two very special pups in my life, Bear & Lily and they are a big part of our family. I LOVE animals, especially dogs and I’ve wanted for a very long time to get involved with our local shelter where I saw the need most and when I reached out to them the response was wonderful!

My first outing for the shelter was this past Saturday when I had the chance to stop in to take a few quick photos of their Tour De Paws event. And boy was it an EVENT… beautiful weather for a bike ride, free helmets for the kiddos, a bounce house!, exotic animals from the zoo available for a little hands on attention, demo by a local police dog and so much more! And all this on the beautiful new shoreline by the Beach House with perfect weather.

Check out a few highlights from this event and be sure to stop by the shelter website to see some of the amazing animals they have looking for a home. http://dmcasf.org/

wsjp_I3A5861

Walk, ride, bike or even JUMP the tour de paws event had something for everyone!

wsjp_I3A5925b

Of course, the focus of this event was really the pups up for adoption at the shelter. These are just a couple of the gorgeous dogs out and about to meet the crowds on Saturday.

wsjp_I3A5925

 A few visitors in from Scovill Zoo! 

wsjp_I3A5818     wsjp_I3A5915 wsjp_I3A5861 wsjp_I3A5910 wsjp_I3A5898 wsjp_I3A5925a

Look out Decatur ‘bad guys’ this talented police dog will find what you have and go get you and he won’t let go!! This was a great demo of the power, strength and intelligence of these dogs.

Be sure to support our local shelter in all it’s endeavors to protect and love the animals in our area and head on over to find your next furry family member!

Leave a Reply

